MY 87 YJ MODS AND UPGRADES

4.2 leaking oil cap

My oil fill cap would not stop leaking . It wasn’t pouring oil out , but it was seeping out and blowing oil all over my engine .

I checked several things that can cause this common problem,

First I replaced the oil fill cap and the gasket with a new one from Pep Boys . This didn’t help any !!!

If the 4.2 isn’t getting good vacuum through the PCV valve it can cause oil to blow out unsealed areas . So I started the engine and pulled the PVC valve out ” WITH THE VACUUM LINE STILL ATTACHED ” or the engine will stall . If you put your finger over the bottom of the PCV valve , there should be a strong vacuum ( suction ). If not check your vacuum line to make sure it is not clogged and check to see if your PCV valve is good. I picked up a new one from the parts store anyways . This didn’t help any !!!

Recently I changed my rear main seal and while I had the main cap off I noticed my main bearings were more worn than the 70 K miles would suggest . When I was picking up oil I decided to buy some Restore engine treatment . An engine swap is in the future anyways .

I guess I was getting more blowby than I thought due to worn rings . I am no longer getting oil blowing out the oil filler cap. I know this will be a short term fix , but it will work for now .

GO BACK TO HOME PAGE

Leave a comment